Strange, But Still…


I’ve been back in the studio these last two days for long stretches, and it feels so good to know that I’m getting stuff done!  I’ve wrapped up the painting of Eric and fawn.  But I’m not signing it just yet because I am making a companion piece to go next to it, and I don’t want to sign them both.  That would be over-the-top.  Speaking of over-the-top, here is the reference photo for the companion piece.

I started out with a black canvas that I finished painting yesterday.  Today I sketched the image with white chalk.

After that, I thinned down some oil paint and quickly added some color.  This will give me a pretty good idea of what the finished product will look like next to the other one.  It also gives me a place to start.  Now that things are mostly in place, I can begin building up color, and tweaking the image to make it look more like me.  I plan on making the background the same pattern as the other painting.

And here is a picture of the two paintings together.  I know it’s a bad photo, but you can see the general idea.

So that’s what’s goin’ on at my place.  I feel very strange doing a self-portrait.  I’ve done a few before in college, but it was strictly by assignment.  I am also planning on hanging these paintings in mine and Eric’s house.   It may be a good idea, from a business standpoint, to have a good example of my work that people can see when they come over.   But still, I know it’s a bit strange.  I don’t know why, but I felt compelled to paint these two pieces together.  Is it waaay too much?

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Strange, But Still…

  1. Not at all. I love them both together. And now that I’ve seen this, I think you need the second piece. (isn’t that soo cute 🙂 )

  2. Harmony says:

    Definitely NOT too much. I think it’s perfect! I’m excited to see what the finished product will be, but I have to say that the painting of you looks really awesome as it is.

What are you thinking?

