11:56pm, It’s Still Wednesday!


Two years ago I graduated from college.  The best thing about college was that I was surrounded by other artists.  I constantly had people around me who cared about art as much as I did.  It was so easy to feed and be fed by the creativity flowing from the fingertips of the people working alongside me when I was in the studio.

When I graduated, I started to feel cut off from that creativity.   I was working alone in my house, and I had lost contact with many of the people that I had gone to school with.  I remember praying that God would give me just one person who shared my love of art.  And tonight I was surrounded by at least twenty other people that feel the same way I do about creating.  I go to Living Word Community Church in Red Lion, PA.  It’s a pretty big church with many classes and programs for people from all walks of life.  But my personal favorite is called The Studio.  It is the fine arts group, and tonight was the first meeting of the school year.  It was amazing.  This month’s topic is urban art.  Ramon Trevino, an accomplished graffiti artist, shared his heart and demonstrated how  to use different techniques with spray paint.

Next week, we’re going to do it ourselves, and I am so excited.  I would love to incorporate spray paint into my oil paintings.  I guess I’d better see if I can even do it first.  It looks tricky, and I have never been good at spray painting things.  If you live in the area and are looking to connect with God and other artists contact deAnn Roe at droe@lwccyork.com or call the church, we’d love to have you!

Oh, and go here to check out some of Ramon’s work!  Do you have any favorites?

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 11:56pm, It’s Still Wednesday!

  1. Cheryl says:

    This is the pulse of revival and you’re a vital link!

  2. arrynvogan says:

    That sounds like a lot of fun. I can’t wait to see your spray painting! It does look tricky to me too. I bet you will pick it up just fine. You might even be the next Banksy!

  3. Melody says:

    haha! you never know!

What are you thinking?

