The Night I Was Introduced to the Joys of Graffiti


It was last night, by the way.  Me and the other members of the LWCC art group donned black hoodies and bandannas to hide our faces and sneaked out to the train yard.  I immediately spotted the train car that I wanted to tag.  My old nemesis had gotten to it before that night, and I was ready to unleash my can of spray paint on top of his [totally lame] designs.  “%$@#,” I scrawled on top of his work.  That would show him!

Alright, so that’s not really how it went down.  There were over twenty of us who met at the church, and we divided ourselves among the eight primed panels so that there were about three to a panel.   Then Ramon Trevino gave us a brief refresher course on how to achieve different results using two different kinds of nozzles and applying pressure differently to get different lines.

Then we went to work.  I worked with my friend Stephanie Rudisill and a really nice lady named Leslie.  We decided to do a patterned background and paint trees on top of the background.  But somehow it turned into something completely different.

A fish:

It was so fun to walk around and see what everyone was working on.

I remember thinking at one point, “Hey, I think I’ve got the hang of this.”  But all it took was one look at Ramon’s demo piece to realize that, like any other art form, it’s not something that can just be “gotten” in one evening.  Ramon’s work is so crisp, and that is a really tough result to achieve when you’re using spray paint.  I have a whole new respect for this medium.

I seriously had the best time last night (oop, song alert!  “I’ve…had…the time of my liiiife”), and I don’t think it will be the last for me.  I would love to invest in some quality spray paint and nozzles (not the same as what you can get at the local hardware store).  But, of course, the coolest thing was the community that I experienced last night.  There were plenty of “Run! Cops!” jokes to be heard, and even a “Run!  Pastor Steve!” joke even though what we were doing was fully legal and approved by the church.  I will say that it was probably one of the coolest things ever done at that building.  If you want to see the rest of the pictures from last night including some of the paintings that others were doing, check out my Pigments of Imagination page on Facebook!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Night I Was Introduced to the Joys of Graffiti

  1. arrynvogan says:

    This is so awesome! I love your fish! I hope you plan to hang that or sell it! It is so cool. what a fun experience and class. Let’s see some more!

  2. Melody, This is my first visit to your blog. I didn’t know you had one. So cool to see your group effort. Love your pics! It was an awesome night at Studio! A wonderfully freeing experience! We are so blessed to have an art group at church! It was the very thing that God used to introduce me to LWCC. See you on Wednesday!

  3. that’s hilarious. good intro + sounds like fun I want to come

  4. Ally says:

    I think Asher would love it! You guys need to have an art night.

What are you thinking?

