I’m Bringing Pattern Back…


Them solid backgrounds don’t know how to act.

Was that just wrong?  Do you ever make up occupational songs from annoying tunes that are stuck in your head?  I’d love to hear your renditions if you can remember any!

Here is the painting as it was when I last posted about it:

I love the solid black background, but I’m still drawn to pattern.  I like how it adds more dimension, and I want it to be the same as the painting of Eric.  So here is my progress on the background.

I matched both sides of the painting up with the painting of Eric so that no matter which side I decide to put it on, it’ll flow into his painting.

I hoped it wouldn’t be too challenging to match up the colors of the background with the painting of Eric, and it wasn’t too bad. Also, please ignore the purple dress.  I’m going to tweak the color and see if it looks better with a bit more gray in it.  I have a feeling this painting is going to go a lot faster than the previous one!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I’m Bringing Pattern Back…

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    The patterned background gives me the feeling you are in the woods….maybe even a thicket like Bambi was born in.

  2. Easten says:

    I love how the patterns match either way you put the paintings together!

  3. Erika says:

    Great job, Mel!!! <3, E

  4. Harmony says:

    I Love it!!! The part where the pattern cuts off the rest of you…that works REALLY well! SO cool! And I think it’s so awesome how the patterns fit together in both paintings. Awesome job Mel!!

  5. mheretowrite says:

    I like the painting with patterns. The paintings are really nice. Great job!!

What are you thinking?

