Almost


Today, as I was photographing my latest painting, I was surprised to find that I am almost done.  Just a few finishing touches.  Famous last words, right?  The painting of Eric also needs a little tweaking so that it fits together better with the one of me.

Here’s how the painting looked the last time I showed you:

And here is how it stands today:

The fingers are a little odd, and I have some minor adjustments to make to the hair.

And here are the two paintings together:

Notice how I altered the bottom of Eric’s painting a little to match the bottom of mine.  You can see how it used to look here.  I like how it looks like we’re enveloped by nature.  The vine-like pattern in the background is my interpretation of the woods.   Well, that’s all for now, folks.

Oh, wait.  I just wanted to say sorry for not warning you of my new posting “schedule”.  As of right now, it is still sort of random as opposed to every M, W, and F.  I’m still trying to do three posts a week though.  The schedule of my life has recently shifted so the M, W, F thing wasn’t working out.  If you want to receive email alerts when I publish new posts, you can sign up on the side bar to the right.  You won’t get spammed and you can unsubscribe at any time.  I’ll let you know if I settle on a more consistent posting schedule.  Until then, I’ll be doing three posts a week as they come to me.  Hopefully that will make things seem more inspired than canned.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Almost

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    the paintings look really good…and I like your hands.

  2. Cheryl M says:

    I was wondering if you were going to wrap Eric in the “woods”- good call! I really think that background is one of your signatures 🙂 I also like the progression of light over each painting- can’t wait to see the photo of the final installation!

  3. Carolyn Martin says:

    lovely! I think you should call these”our first born”? Since you are both holding them as you would an infant 🙂 I love the nature surrounding you…

    • Melody says:

      Carolyn, these paintings are definitely about having children even though the fawn is sort of the substitute until we have human babies! haha. I’ll probably elaborate on that more in a different post.

  4. arrynvogan says:

    These are looking really great! I really like how the background flows from Eric’s painting into yours. That was a nice attention to detail. Also, I love the folds in the fabric! They look awesome!

What are you thinking?

