Hi Ho.


Can you guess what this post is about?  I’ll give you a hint:  I was not greeting a promiscuous woman.  Although, if you are a promiscuous woman I don’t want to be rude.  Hi.

I’ve been experiencing some symptoms lately that just aren’t natural.  These symptoms include consistently forgetting what day of the week it is, poor time management, excessive Facebook usage, and lethargy.  I’ve been denying these symptoms for some time, but I can’t ignore them any longer.  It’s time to tell you that I’ve decided to get a part-time job.

When I first graduated from college I worked part-time as a receptionist and was really excited when a year later I was able to quit and start what I believed would be a full-time job as a painter.  The problem is that I wasn’t as disciplined as I needed to be to make this work and quickly fell into part-time painting.  I loved being free to do what I wanted, but I was filling up my free time with worthless activities such as surfing the internet.  I know now that spending hours “window shopping” online is a great indicator of rapidly spreading epidemic known as boredom.

After some gentle prodding from a few trusted advisers, I finally came to the decision that it was time to look for a part time job.  I began to think of the kind of job I wanted.  I felt that the job I wanted would be more of a hobby…or as Eric put it, a Jobby.  My dream job would have these things: sixteen hours tops, fun, good working environment, a place to look nice,  and no evening hours.  On the very evening of the day that I decided to look for a job, I was offered a job at my church.  I hadn’t even gotten around to looking for a job yet.  I hadn’t told anyone.  I hadn’t even prayed about it!  But God knew.  The coolest thing is the job itself.  I officially have the job now and am an intern for the children’s ministry at my church.  The job is part-time (12-16 hours a week, but more if I want), temporary, a great working environment, I can mostly choose my own hours, and I don’t have to wear paint clothes.  Also, until they hire more interns, I get my own office!

Sometimes when a decision comes up, it is so clear what the right thing to do is.  This is one of those decisions for me.  I am not worried about painting less.  I think I may even paint more than I do now.  Sometimes, all that is needed for better productivity is a little structure.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hi Ho.

  1. smersh0 says:

    Congrats, sounds like a wonderful job!

What are you thinking?

