A New Studio for Me


As many of you know, Eric and I recently moved.  This means that I need to find a new place to set up my studio.  There are three possibilities, two of which are in the detached garage.

The HUGE barn-like side of our garage is on the left in the picture above,  and there is a smaller room on the right side.

Can you believe this space?  I would love to open this space up to other artists who need studio space too, but there is a huge problem right now.  I don’t have the means to heat it efficiently in the winter.  It’s not insulated, and the ceiling is so high that the heat from a space heater would get lost.  I also considered  a patio heater that I can turn on when I’m in the garage, but one tank of gas would only last me ten hours.   I need a place that is a consistent temperature for storing my paintings and supplies.  Another con is the lack of natural light.

Another option is the smaller side of the garage.

The heat is still an issue.  Although it is a smaller space, it’s still not insulated.  Keeping this room at a consistent temperature would mean constantly having a space heater on during the winter.  It does, however, have one window and a garage door with windows.  There is some sort of heater in there already, but it doesn’t seem to work.

My last option is this corner of my basement.

The natural lighting is not ideal, but there is a small window across from that white wall.  And the best part is that, surprisingly, the basement is the warmest place in the entire house!  I don’t know why, but I love it.  It’s very cozy.  As much as I love my other two options, I think that the basement is the most practical one right now.  I’ll keep you posted on my solutions for getting better lighting and making this space a workable studio.

In the future, I would love to work in the detached garage.  I just have to figure out how to make it work all year round.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in My Studio and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A New Studio for Me

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    BaSEMENT…BASEMENT… BASEMENT….BASEMENT.
    it’s nice to be warm and relaxed when you are creating

  2. Jess Ross says:

    Have you ever worked with an Ott-Lite? They are rather expensive, but they’re supposedly really good at simulating natural “high def” light. And unless they changed the rules, you can use a coupon on them at Michael’s 😉

  3. Sounds like you’ve made the right choice for now. Cozy definitely beats cold. You can insulate and investigate heating options for the garage as time goes on. Enjoy!

  4. Melissa says:

    First of all congratulations on the move! No I was not informed of this ; ). You’re idea of allowing other artists to come in and use the space or keep their art there turned my wheels a little. I think that if you decide to do that then you could charge a little fee for them to use it that way eventually you could use that money to convert everything to they way that your art and supplies can be kept and preserved properly.

  5. Get full spectrum lamps and think about a sola-tube nearest to where you’d want natural daylight. I LOVE the other spaces for SPACE…phase 2 and phase 3, I say!

  6. Ally says:

    I have a better solution….NC!

What are you thinking?

