In Transition


I guess I thought we’d move our stuff into the new house and that would be that.  I underestimated life again.  You think I would know better having moved a bajillion times in my twenty-four years.  Things like getting ready in the morning become more difficult because you’re running around trying to remember where your toothbrush, hairdryer, clothes, and sanity are.  Never mind that I’m not painting in the studio that still needs to be set up, I’m just trying to remember to wear pants to work today.

That’s why I’m so grateful for the art group at my church.  It has been amazing to have a place to go and work on art during this awkward transition.  When I am there creating I forget that I have a leak in my kitchen ceiling that needs to be fixed, or that we have a substance resembling sewage (ack!) leaking in our front yard, OR that my washer leaked water all over the space that was going to be my studio.  That is why I love art…It’s not escapism, but it clears the mind and helps me focus on just one thing.

This month we are doing mixed media self-portraits.  The first week we focused on how other people see us.

I included elements to represent my life in Thailand.  The palm trees, the storms, the temples, the adventure.  I also have elements that represent my current life.  The main one is the house that we just moved into.  It would appear that I have a neat little life.

Last night, the focus was on creating a self portrait that portrays your inner fears, struggles, and battles.

Have you ever heard anyone refer to a difficult time in their life as a valley?  Well, I am in a valley right now.  I don’t want to go into explaining everything again, but you can read more about it here if you want to.  I have fretted about this issue so much that I’m afraid it is starting to define me.  What a tragedy that would be!

I don’t think the piece is finished yet.  We’ll see what happens!  In the meantime, I hope you all have a fabulous Thursday.  Only one week til Thanksgiving!  Any good plans?

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In Transition

  1. Ally says:

    Mel I love the last picture. Honestly I think it may be one of my favorite things you have ever done. The emotion I can feel is incredible. I am so sorry you are in pain.

  2. arrynvogan says:

    Melody I just ready your post that you linked from earlier. I read every post you write, but somehow didn’t read that one. I wanted to say how touched I was by what you wrote. That must have been hard to write and share. You are in my thoughts. I will sincerely be praying for you and Eric!

What are you thinking?

