Snow in a Jar


This year has been a little disappointing as far as snow goes.  The other day I decided to do something about it and made a few snow globes.  This year my Christmas will be white, even if it’s only in small scale.

The materials needed are:

  • A jar or snow globe
  • Epoxy
  • Small figurine(s)
  • glitter or a snow-like substitute that won’t float in water
  • Distilled water
  • Glycerin (can be found at a pharmacy)
  • enamel spray paint (optional)

I used a sauce jar so it still had the brand on the lid.  I used gold enamel spray paint and painted the lid gold to hide the lettering.

I glued the figures to the lid of the jar with epoxy and let them sit overnight.

Then I filled the jar almost all the way with distilled water.   The instructions that I used said to add a dash of glycerin.  I added a tiny bit, because I heard that adding too much can make the “snow” stick to the sides of the jar.  Other instructions said to add a teaspoon.  Next time I’ll try that.  The glycerin helps to suspend the glitter in the water so it falls slowly.

For the snow a variety of things can be used.  I tried glitter which is the standard option, but I also added ground eggshells.  This was really time consuming.  It worked out well though because a few days before the snow globes I made chocolate parfaits.

I still had heavy whipping cream left from that recipe, so I decided to make Spinach Bacon Quiche using the heavy cream.

This left me with six eggshells.  The only thing was that minion and I had to remove all of the skins on the inside of the eggshells which was a little much.  I used the back of a spoon and rolling pin to grind the shells.  They look nice when they lay, but when the globe is shaken the egg shells sink right away.

Was that just way too much information?  So I mixed the glitter, eggshells, and water together.  The glitter and the eggshells together equaled about a tablespoon.

Then I closed the lid of the jar and shook it up.  I didn’t glue the lid on until I was satisfied with the way the snow  looked.  If you’re not happy with how it turns out you can always pour the water out and try again.

Here are a couple of other snow globes that I made:

I can’t wait to make more snow globes.  You may have guessed by my terrariums that I love these little worlds.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, How To: Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Snow in a Jar

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    I love your little worlds, too….like little Narnia’s…fun, like terrariums, to imagine what it would be like to be in that little world….reminds me a little of the book No Man In Eden and the terrestrial strange world that the main character ended up in….

  2. arrynvogan says:

    These are so awesome, I am catching up on reading since the holidays. They are so cute!

  3. Melody says:

    Thanks, Arryn! I bet you could do something really cool and combine ceramics with a snow globe. They’re so much fun to make.

What are you thinking?

