A Happy Birthday Portrait


Today is a special day.  And to mark this special day, Tom and Amy McNamara, Bob and Chris McNamara and Cyndi and Young Song have asked me to paint a portrait for their sister Sue.  It is her birthday!  The subject?  Sue’s adorable dog, Seamus.  Here he is:

Doesn’t he have such a great face?

Normally I stretch my own canvases, but this time I bought a 12″x12″ canvas at Michael’s.  You can’t tell from this photo, but it has a good, thick frame that will stand out from the wall by an inch and a half.

I quickly did a thumbnail sketch so that I could plan out the composition.  Here is what I came up with:

Sue, I wish you a very happy birthday and a wonderful and blessed year.  I will keep posting updates so that you can see the progress of this painting over the next couple of weeks.  If you want to give any input on the painting, feel free to contact me at melodyjmartin@gmail.com.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Happy Birthday Portrait

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    I want to hug that dog!!!!! So soft and furry and definitely the loving friendly type, a faithful friend.

  2. Ally says:

    If you really like painting dogs you can do Juno next!

  3. I love that he is rocking that jester’s collar — can’t wait to see the finished piece!

  4. Sue says:

    Melody,

    I can’t tell you how excited I am! I have wanted a painting of my sweet boy for ages! I am blessed to have such a loving family. Especially family with connections to a great artist!

    Thank you for adding to the best birthday I’ve ever had!

    Oh, Seamus is as gentle and loving as you all think he is…even at 150 pounds!

What are you thinking?

