Blackety Black, Please Come Back


I may have said this before, but I love working from black backgrounds.  When I did the paintings of the fawns, I started out with a black background.  I am going to do the same for the painting of Sue’s dog, Seamus.

Because he is a black dog and dark colors will take over the majority of the canvas, it makes sense to paint the canvas black so that less dark layers will be required overall.  I used acrylic paint, because it dries quickly.  Then I sketched him using white chalk.

When working with white chalk, mistakes can easily be erased with a damp cloth.

Next, I’ll continue with oil paint.  My goal is to finish this painting by the tenth of January.  I think this piece will move pretty quickly.  Famous last words?

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blackety Black, Please Come Back

  1. Hi Melody!
    I hope you had a wonderful Christmas season! Is Seamus a Newfoundland? He is beautiful! I used to raise St. Bernards! Your post taught me something today. Never thought of starting with a black background and sketching with white chalk. So helpful! Looking forward to seeing your finished artwork! Happy New Year!
    Hugs, Renee’

  2. arrynvogan says:

    Pooh I look forward to seeing the end result of this one! ( as usual)

What are you thinking?

