Seamus


Today was quite a productive day for me.  It is the first time I’ve really painted in mine and Eric’s new house.  Admittedly, my studio space leaves a lot to be desired at the moment, but it is functional and I am grateful for that.

But enough about my studio.  Here is the work I got done today:

I chose a solid background so that the attention is on Seamus.  I still have a little work to do on details and proportions so that it looks more like him.  For example, his nose is too wide in the painting.  Also, the colors of the collar and background can easily be changed if Sue prefers a different look.  I may not get a chance to work on this painting again until Friday, so I’m glad that I got a lot done today.

Ahhh, it feels good to be back!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Seamus

  1. amy says:

    LOVE it!!! Can’t wait to see it completed!

  2. Melody says:

    Thanks, Auntie Amy!

  3. Carolyn says:

    another amazing portrait!!! Is this your first dog painting?

  4. Carolyn Martin says:

    hey what happened? that is my comment above?

  5. Looking great, Melody!

  6. Holly Niphakis says:

    Aaawwww! Seamus looks so adorable and cuddly and soft and clean like he just got a shampoo and dry… and I still want to wrap my arms around him….

  7. Sue says:

    You have captured him beautifully! I love this and can’t wait to see more!

What are you thinking?

