A Little About My Job


As I’ve mentioned before, I work part-time at my church in the children’s ministry department.   This “jobby” as I like to call it has been a God-send for me.  When I was hired, the woman I work for was really excited to learn that I am an artist.  The cool thing is that she has me using my creativity all the time.

I work with grades one, two, and three, and this month’s topic is Self-Control.  The illustration to go with it is video games.  I’m sure you’ve never gotten out of control while playing video games ;), but I certainly have.  **Tangent:  My husband Eric loves to play Zelda and I love to watch.  One time he convinced me to give it a shot.  I played for ten or fifteen minutes and at the end of that time I may or may not have yelled at and insulted Eric and stormed out of the room.  I was horrible at it!**  Anyway, for the stage backdrop I thought it would be cool to do something video-gamed theme and I chose my favorite:  Mario.

The back wall of the stage is already a blue-violet color so it worked for the sky.  I used craft paper and permanent markers to make everything else.

I apologize for the horrible pictures.  My camera hasn’t been the same since I dropped it.

Anyway, I’m curious about you.  Do you play video games?  If so, what’s your favorite?

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Little About My Job

  1. Khurley says:

    Mel! I love Mario! And this is amazing! It kinda makes me want to act like an elementary-schooler so I can sit in this room… 😛 Keep it up!

  2. Rob says:

    Wow, Mel, that came out awesome!

  3. arrynvogan says:

    that is so cute! I LOVE Mario! We have it on the wii and it is my favorite. I also love Michael Jackson Just Dance. That is my gaming. Andrew loves Zelda too!

  4. This wall looks adorable! At first I actually thought you decided to do this in your house. Ha!

    • P.S. I just saw Arryn’s response, and that reminded me: Eric and I actually recently got a Wii and Just Dance 2 & 3, and we do it every day as our exercise program! But it is the only video I “play”.

      • Melody says:

        Just Dance is such a good workout. I still don’t have it yet, but hopefully soon. I’m not very coordinated, but it is so much fun. 🙂

  5. Harmony says:

    First, You are AMAZING because that backdrop looks exactly like a Mario scene. The kids are going to LOVE it! Second, I love Minecraft and zelda best of all video games. 🙂

  6. Ally says:

    Well you know that everyone in my family does not like video games….oh wait that’s just me. Asher LOVES the pictures. He wants to play it.

  7. Melody says:

    Ally, that’s so great. I’m glad Asher likes it!

  8. Holly Niphakis says:

    The funniest thing for me in seeing your pictures is that I cannot see them or think about them without the Mario music going on in my head while I see it….Now maybe i need to put some meaningful words to that music 🙂 you have such a fun job! There’s an old hymn or chorus us oldies used to sing at church….”there is joy in serving Jesus”…. Anyways,Melody Joy, you are having joy in serving Jesus…Yaaaaay!!!!!

What are you thinking?

