Heart Dog


Sue brought a very special puppy named Seamus into her home a month before tragedy struck.  When her mother died suddenly, Seamus became the reason she had to get out of bed in the morning.  Being a rather rambunctious puppy, Sue had to care for Seamus and take him on walks.  Sue jokes that her siblings think she’s crazy for loving Seamus so much, but I think it’s plain to see why she does.  They have been through a lot together, and in Sue’s words, “share a special bond.”  I like what she called him in her most recent email to me.  Her Heart Dog.

I had a lot of fun painting Seamus.  It was even cooler to hear Sue’s story and to hear how much he means to her.  Here is the finished piece.

Sue described her 50th birthday as one that she will never forget.  She said, “When I was presented with your blog, it brought tears to my eyes that my family would think enough of me to give me something that mattered to only me!”

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Heart Dog

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    You express Sue’s story so eloquently and the picture, as I said before, makes me want to run up and throw my arms around Seamus’s neck and bury my face in his furry neck. A faithful friend indeed and God’s provision to Sue for help through a hard time. Mel, I think you should make your blog into a book…really….Does WordPress offer that as an option..to print out your blog? Even if it’s just for you for your archives…(and maybe a copy for you mum 🙂 )

  2. arrynvogan says:

    That is a touching story! You did a wonderful job!

  3. Carolyn Martin says:

    along with another beautiful work of art comes an equally awaited story! Melody you do a wonderful job expressing your thoughts in painting as well as words…

  4. …I enjoyed reading this Melody..you are so very talented!

What are you thinking?

