The Campaign Revisited


Eric is an exceptional man.  Life with him never gets dull.  His recent bid for the open US Congress seat in our district was a prime example of what it’s like to be married to him.  Towards the end of January he made a decision to run for congress, and I can’t say that it surprised me.  It was a classic Eric move, and it was brilliant.

Here are some of the campaign highlights:

Submitting our 1,250 signature petition to the capitol after weeks of hard work,

Seeing Eric on TV and hearing him on the radio,

Sign bomb day,

And handing out literature on voting day!

When we first started the campaign, we had no idea what a nerve-wracking and humbling experience it would be.  When you run for congress at the age of 26 there are a lot of people telling you you’re too young, or you don’t belong in the race.  Eric handled it so well, and I think he proved them wrong.  He ended up coming in fifth out of seven candidates, and he ran a good clean race.

Ultimately I learned a lot of things, but I’ll only bore you with a few of them.

  •  It is really important to be supportive of your spouse.  I tried to go to every event that Eric had.  Not only did it mean a lot to him, but it meant a lot to the people who saw us there together.
  • I need to vote more.  I learned a lot about this country and how things work.  There are so many changes that need to be made, and on voting day I noticed something really shocking.  There was a twenty-five percent turnout, and the vast majority of voters at my poll were over the age of  fifty!  As a younger generation we NEED to step up and use our voices.
  • Every vote counts!  Eric edged out the man in 6th place by four votes!

Ok, I’m almost done.  I just want to say a special Thank You Soooo Much! to all of the friends and family who helped us throughout the campaign.  I still can’t believe how awesome you are!  We are truly blessed to know you.

And lastly, here is a compilation of several of Eric’s speeches that our friend Clif put together.  Enjoy!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Campaign Revisited

  1. arrynvogan says:

    definitely exciting! Do you think he will try to run again?

    • Melody says:

      I guess that depends on our circumstances two years from now. He will most likely be running against an incumbent if he runs two years from now, so the chances of him succeeding are pretty slim. But we’ll see!

  2. Way to go, you two! Very inspiring! Keep it up. 🙂 Oh yeah, and we should get together soon.

What are you thinking?

