Sketchy


Looking through the sketchbook of an artist is a bit like peeking into someone’s journal.  It’s not like I’d be angry or offended if someone picked up my sketchbook and started leafing through it, but in my opinion, you should always ask the artist if it’s OK first.  And don’t be offended if they want to flip through the book with you and only show you certain things.

My sketchbook is not as personal as many are, but it can be a bit embarrassing.  It’s where I unload my brain so a lot of the sketches are rather odd like the one pictured below.  A cheese tree for mice? Yes.

Comments 1

My sketchbook is also a place where I try things on for size.  I’m not crazy about a lot of non-representational art, but this is something that I took from an old Nat Geo photo of the Earth.  I guess it represents river systems, but to me it seemed more abstract and I was drawn to the colors and shapes so I sketched it with water color pencils.

My sketchbook is a place where I can practice using different techniques with mediums like colored pencils.

I also like to sketch from my art books.  This is a sketch I did of Stieler’s Portrait of Lola Montez.

Of course, there is usually the odd animal sketch in there too.  I cut these ones out.

My sketchbook doesn’t have anything amazing in it.  It’s mostly a brain dump of creative ideas or inspirations.  It has a lot of half-baked ideas and unfinished drawings.  But there is still something that feels private about it.  Why is that?

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sketchy

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    thank you for sharing your sketchbook….parts of it….I’ve done the same thing in my life but usually with poems, songs, verses, words, and the odd sketch or picture I’ve found that capture a thought….

  2. easten2 says:

    As a non-artist I am amazed that these are your unfinished, unpolished sketches. No wonder your finished products display so much talent!

  3. arrynvogan says:

    I love that you did this post. It is fun to see some of the things found in our own sketchbook. I really love looking back through some of my old ones (even if it does embarrass me!)

What are you thinking?

