Nothing New Under the Sun


“What has been will be again,
what has been done will be done again;
there is nothing new under the sun.”   Ecclesiastes 1:9

Minion and I decided to go on a hike in Nixon Park.  Nixon is one of my favorite places to go, but I can’t tell you why.  It’s not the grandest, most impressive park, but there is so much beauty to be seen.  It’s where Eric and I got engaged.  I bring my camera whenever I go there hoping to photograph something that will inspire a painting.  You would not believe how many times a day  I look at something and think “that would be a cool painting.”

Here are a few of the photos that I took there:

This one is my favorite.  This is a Piebald deer.  I had never seen one or even heard of one until I saw this doe.  I have a feeling she’ll be showing up in a lot of my work.

We also found a turtle, but it didn’t come out to play.

Check out these leaves!  I love how the light is filtering through them.

The underside of these leaves was an awesome silvery color.  I wonder how difficult it would be to mix that color.

This next picture is when I turned to Harmony and said: “Wow! Look at that huge bed of sperm!  ACK! I mean FERNS. FERNS!”  Awkward!

These flowers fell from the trees and were all over the ground.  What are they?

I look for inspiration everywhere I go, but there is nothing new under the sun.  Anything that I create is a mere imitation of God’s creation.  And a very poor imitation at that.  It may be cheesy to say, but being outside is better than any gallery.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Nothing New Under the Sun

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    Meli…you are wonderfully eloquent and you are a daughter after my own heart….it’s true that being outside is better than any gallery! It truly makes me smile from the inside out whenever I am outside. Sometimes I think of various walks as “Green Cathedrals”. I like the picture of the trees on the path going off to the side…it begs “come further in, explore.” That Piebold deer seems like it’s from a fantasy. Your beautiful flower is from a Poplar tree. 🙂 What a beautiful arrangement of color…the bright green with mandarin orange.

  2. elizabethjancewicz says:

    I love this whole thing. I wish I could pinpoint exact details I love about this post, but I think I’d be pinpointing everything.

  3. Easten says:

    I love ferns! I definitely think you should feature some ferns in your future paintings:)

  4. Erika says:

    I love this post! Makes me want to take a stroll outside…

What are you thinking?

