Anniversary Garden


My parents celebrated their anniversary on May 22nd.  Thirty-Six Years!

They were on a month long road trip around the time of their anniversary, so Harmony and I built them a little garden while they were gone.  I wish I had a before picture, but I’ll just tell you that there wasn’t much there.  Weeds had overtaken the spot, but I want to clarify that this does not reflect on my parents’ ability to garden.  My dad actually has an amazing garden, but didn’t have the time to get to this one spot.  My mom loves birds and this is where they all gather, so we knew it would be a good gift for both of them to fix this space up.  Here it is:

We wanted to leave that middle mulched spot clear so that it could be walked on when the bird feeders need to be refilled.  On the left is a rock garden.

We planted some Easter Bonnets, Silver Leaf, and Hen and Chicks.  The rocks and moss were found in the woods behind my parent’s house.

Harmony made a cool little trail out of moss from the woods and old branches from my parent’s yard.

We built a little rock wall and put some vine-y plants on the edge, along with a butterfly plant, and some ferns transplanted from the woods.

I built a little rock mosaic behind the ferns so the backdrop wouldn’t be dirt.

This garden is right next to a brick patio where we often eat outside in the summer, and my mom’s desk is right behind that window.  When everything starts filling in, I think it will look really great!

We surprised my parents with the garden when they got home from their road trip.  They LOVE it!  My dad said it’s the best gift we could have gotten them, which made us feel really good.  They are such awesome parents and I am so blessed to have them!  Here’s to many more anniversaries!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Anniversary Garden

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    I’m sitting here at my computer looking outside the window at my beautiful anniversary rock garden and looking at it up close on the computer….does that make it 4 dimentional? 🙂 Utterly wonderfully delightful… and the birds love it too. thank you to you and Harmy.

  2. Holly Niphakis says:

    Looking at your blog again I’m thinking it would be nice to have this blog in booklet form 🙂

  3. arrynvogan says:

    That is a great gift! Nicely done. I bet that was a lot of fun to create, too.

  4. Easten says:

    What a beautiful garden! You and Harmony are a couple of green thumbs:) Can we hire you?

What are you thinking?

