Dante


I am a pretty avid blog reader.  Sometimes I’ll revisit a blog that hasn’t been updated for a while, and I get annoyed at how there’s nothing new to read.  Then I think of my own blog which hasn’t been updated since June 11th!  Oops!

Well,  I can’t promise that it will get better permanently, but I do have a string of posts coming up about a special commission that I completed in May.  I didn’t post anything while I was working on it, because it was supposed to be a bit of a surprise.

Maria contacted me and asked me to paint a portrait of her nephew Dante who recently died in a motorcycle accident at the age of twenty-two.  She wanted me to paint a portrait of Dante for his dad using this photo with a few adjustments.  Dante is the one on the left.

Since it was a small photo, I opted to use a grid to get the proportions right on a larger scale.  The canvas is 16″ x 20″.

Next, I erased the grid lines as well as I could, and sprayed the drawing with fixative so that the pencil wouldn’t wash away when I put paint over it.  Using acrylic paints, I did a wash of Burnt Sienna on the canvas.  Then I did a black and white under-painting with acrylic paint.

I didn’t know Dante, but I loved hearing about what kind of a man he was and I wish I could have met him.  I will write more about him when I show you the completed painting.  In the mean time, stay tuned for more updates.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dante

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    thanks, Mel, for updating your blog….I know enough not to point out things on your unfinished paintings 🙂 ….looks good…

What are you thinking?

