Dante (Part 3)


*Catch up on Part 1 and Part 2!

Last time I posted the painting of Dante it looked like this:

After working on it a bit more, a lot of the lines and details became more refined.  Here is the finished painting (sans my signature because I forgot to take a picture after I signed it):

This is the second memorial portrait that I’ve worked on, and I really do love doing these paintings.  Of course, it is sad to think about the lives that were lost and the grieving families, but if painting these portraits helps in any way then I am glad to do it.  I truly enjoyed getting to know Dante through working on this painting, and through the words of his aunt Maria.  Here is something that she wrote about him:

Dante was a 22 year old young man who was loved by so many people.  He studied at Aviation Institute of Maintenance in Orlando, Florida and would have graduated this year.  He loved his family & friends and was the type of guy that would be there for anyone to listen and always gave great advice.  He also loved music and had made a CD with some close buddies.  His favorite saying was “The Sky’s the Limit!” He loved is sister Alex and his dad, also named Dante, was his best friend.  His family and friends miss him a lot and he will never be forgotten.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are you thinking?

