Baby Martin


I’ve been wanting to write this post for a few days, but kept putting it off because I wasn’t sure how to approach it.  But I’ll just tell you the news…Eric and I are having a baby!  Do you remember this post I wrote about infertility last November?  If you’ve read it, then you may be able to guess how much I’ve anticipated this moment.  Telling all of you the good news.  I wasn’t sure if it would ever happen.

It took a year and a half for us to get pregnant, which in waiting time feels like five years.  We had armies of people praying for us which was absolutely incredible.  And after all of my crying and worrying about all of the things that I would have to go through to get pregnant (or adopt) it came out of nowhere and surprised me.  God is so good.  I knew it before I got pregnant, because He comforted me and gave me hope.  And I know it now because He has given me this amazing gift that I don’t deserve.

I am thirteen weeks pregnant and I’m due February 5th (just four days before mine and Harmony’s birthday!).  Eric has been so awesome as I knew he would be.  One of my favorite moments was when he looked at me and said “I love you guys.”  He even took this picture of  us at the beach:

And lastly, so many of you prayed for me and/or said kind and encouraging words when I was waiting.  I can’t even say “Thank you” enough.  I am so blessed to have wonderful friends like you!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Baby Martin and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Baby Martin

  1. Margaret says:

    i am SO happy for you and eric, melody!!! can’t wait to see your progression. you are already adorable! love that little baby belly!! :):)

    • Melody says:

      Thanks, Margaret! It’s funny to think that there is nothing I can do to stop the belly from growing and it really is growing fast! Makes me smile. 🙂

  2. Lauren says:

    Look at that sweet little one!!! What a perfect little profile! So happy to have spent time with y’all last week and to have seen the ‘bump’ in person:)

    Love, Lauren

    • Melody says:

      Thanks, Lauren! 🙂 It was so good to see you guys! We put the book and the toy that you gave us in the nursery with the other things. It is sooo exciting!

  3. Sara says:

    Melody, I couldn’t be happier for you!!! You will be an amazing mom. xoxo

  4. When you recently said you had a secret I was wondering (and hoping) that this would be it!! Congratulations, (my) Eric and I am so incredibly happy for you guys!! (I sometimes read your posts to him, so he knew about the November post). We’ll be praying for both of your heath over these next months. I seriously have so much joy for you right now!!

  5. Holly Niphakis says:

    You, Eric and baby just keep me smiling and smiling from the inside out…. and I too am thankful to God for allowing me the joy of being here close to you while you grow and discover and anticipate and dream….and seriously, grandbaby #6 will be loved not a twinkle less and word to the world ….one can never have enough grandkids! The more the grandkids, the more the miracles unfolding before your very eyes…the more answers to prayer…the more blessing….the more growth. thank You, Lord!

  6. Awesome! Congrats! So excited for this new journey that awaits you.

  7. Carolyn Martin says:

    Praise God,I mean PRAISE GOD!!!! I can not express the excitement we feel in having our first grandchild planted! Eric and Melody I know you will be awesome parents and we will enjoy every moment watching you love your precious child. While raising it up to love and serve the Lord<3 Blessed beyond words…grannie Martin

  8. Erika says:

    SO SO SO SO SO excited for you guys!!! =) See you tomorrow!!!

  9. lindsey rambo says:

    Congratulations Mel!!! I’m so very happy for you and Eric! You will be a great mother and love it!!!! This little bundle of joy will forever change you and make you strive to be the best you can be.

  10. arrynvogan says:

    I love reading this and seeing those first pictures! Can’t wait to see more as you both grow!

  11. Jocelyn says:

    What wonderful news! For some reason, finding out you’re going to be a mama made me remember that time I stayed over at the river house and we got woken up in the middle of the night for a bonfire/marshmellow roast. I have a feeling you’re going to be a cool mom like that 🙂

What are you thinking?

