Nixonian


Not the president, but the park.  Harmony and I went there again and were not disappointed.  There are new things to be discovered every time!  Here are a few glimpses of our hike today.

First we saw a family of mushrooms living in a tree.

And of course my favorite: moss.

We went off the beaten path a little to put our feet in some freezing water.

Harmony caught a fish.

She said, “Look he’s my friend.  I caught him.”  Then she released him, and a herd–or rather, a school–of them nibbled her toes.  I will let you interpret what it could have meant.

I just had to take this picture of Harmony’s characteristic hair.  It is so her!

And lastly as our hike was coming to a close, I captured the underside of a brightly colored mushroom.  That glowing coral-ish color is the same color you’ll see when someone’s ears are back-lit by the sun.  I love it!

Just to clarify, I wasn’t the one that took a nibble out of that mushroom.  Enjoy the rest of the weekend everyone!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Nixonian

  1. Minion says:

    These pictures are AMAZING!!!!! the mushroom and moss pictures came out SO well! And I really like the picture of my frizzies! It’s taken at such a cool angle. You captured their personality so well 😛 Anyway, great job Mel!

  2. Looks like you guys had a beautiful day! Love the nibbled mushroom pic 🙂

  3. elliot says:

    What a nice day at the park. The last time I was there I was looking at rocks for extra credit from Dr. Rocks. I was thinking about releasing my rooster there in the nature preserve for him to have a good final resting place after all of his hens got eaten by the fox.

  4. Holly Niphakis says:

    I totally agree with Elliott….Nixon park would have been a cool place for the rooster to live…. Nice catch, Harmy….Mel, the picture of the mushrooms and the moss and trees made me think a huge photo of nature, the woods, etc., would be awesome for a wall in the babies room…I wonder if the baby would grow up thinking he/she was an elf or driad or forest creature….and feel at home in the woods…. and my interpretation of the school of fish nibbling Harmy’s toes means that they all wanted to be picked up to get a better view of the forest around them…

What are you thinking?

