The Pumpkin


Have you ever read the poem The Raven by Edgar Allan Poe?  I couldn’t stop thinking about it when trying to come up with ideas for my pumpkin carving.  But I didn’t just want to carve a raven.  I wanted to carve a portrait.  When looking at the poem, I came across the part when the raven enters the house and perches on a bust of Pallas Athena.   I decided to focus on this image for my pumpkin this year.

I hollowed out the pumpkin, chose a couple of images of Pallas Athena and the Raven for references, and sketched the image on the pumpkin.

Using pottery tools and wood carving tools, I got to work and started carving.  Every once in a while I took a break and checked my progress by lighting a candle in the pumpkin.

The walls of the pumpkin were so thick that I had to really carve to thin them out enough for light to show through.  Here is the finished product.

 

If you are planning on carving a pumpkin this year, and you want more information on where to start, you can check out this post.  Also, I would love to hear about your carving adventures.  If you have any pictures, please email them to me at melodyjmartin@gmail.com so I can post them on my blog!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Pumpkin Carving and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Pumpkin

  1. Liz says:

    That is so cool!!!

  2. Easten says:

    That is amazing! And I love that poem- great inspiration:)

  3. Holly Niphakis says:

    Melody, your creations are a continue supply of surprise and delight to me! I will tell you a sad secret though….I have never read the Raven. I think I will have to do this this weekend…I have it….just never read it!

  4. Erika says:

    So awesome, Mel!

What are you thinking?

