Wild Horses


When you were young did you ever pretend to be a horse at recess?  Maybe galloping around the playground with your friends?  I tried it once, but it wasn’t my thing.   I was more of a swinger.  My mom, however, was “king” of the horses on her playground as a child.  She has always loved horses.  So for her birthday this year I made her a horse terrarium.  I decided to make one with a mom and a baby horse.  As I prepare to be a mother myself, I am increasingly grateful for everything that she has done for me and the welcome advice that she still offers.  She is a great example of what a mom should be.

For details on how to make a terrarium, see this post.  To hold the horses in place, I wrapped wire around their hooves and made a little spike that could be pressed into the soil.

I don’t know about you, but I can’t think of horses and not think of this song.  Have a listen if you feel like it!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Terrariums and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wild Horses

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    Yes…I was King of the horses as we stampeded across our elementary school playground trying to evade the cowboys who were trying to catch us and take away our freedom! i love my little terrarium you made….and yes….I like this song, too….though I’ll make a disclaimer saying that I don’t really remember the words except Wild Horses couldn’t drag me away…..if there are any other inappropriate words, I don’t know what they are. :-][

  2. Carolyn Martin says:

    so sweet,what an appropriate gift for your mom! and I agree she is an awesome mom!!!!

What are you thinking?

