Animal Lover


I would consider myself quite an animal lover.  Not in the traditional sense though.  You won’t find a single pet in my house unless it’s the occasional wild animal being “rescued.”  Here are a couple of animals that Eric, Harmony, and I have cared for over the years.  The smaller ones were found as babies and we kept them for a couple of weeks feeding them kitten formula until they were ready to be re-released back into the wild (aka our yard).

This is Tomato, a baby rabbit that Harmony found in our dad’s garden.  Harmony’s holding him here not long before we released him.  At this point he was twice as big as when we found him.

This is one of two baby chipmunks that we found over the years.  We fed him until he was healthy and strong enough to take care of himself.  This was Eric’s favorite and watching him hold this little guy made me sure he would be a good dad.  I know…it’s a whole different animal.  In this picture, Eric and I brought it to visit my parent’s house and Harmony fed him kitten formula.

And last but not least, the fawn that we found and kept for twenty minutes before returning him to his mom.  Again, another moment I knew Eric would make a great dad.  You can see the pieces that I painted to document this event here.

I love observing animals in their natural environments.  Especially deer.  Eric and I haven’t adopted any baby animals recently, but I am growing one.  I have also been making some animal terrariums.  Did you see the “Wild Horses” terrarium that I made for my mom?

I also made a terrarium for Eric’s Aunt Amy.  Aunt Amy provided a beautiful seeded glass jar and said to surprise her.  I thought moss was the best option for the closed space, because I know it can thrive in a sealed environment.  I also had a deer figurine that was the perfect scale for the jar.

The materials I used on this project were:  Jar, moss, deer figurine, peat moss, citrus soil, and activated carbon.   To learn how to make a terrarium, you can check out this post.

Because this terrarium is sealed, it will only need to be misted with water every couple of weeks (maybe less) because the water will recycle itself.  Another thing is that this terrarium should not be stored in direct sunlight or the moss will die.

Now tell me about yourself.  Are you an animal lover or an animal tolerator?  Do you have any pets?

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Musings, Terrariums and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Animal Lover

  1. arrynvogan says:

    This looks awesome. I love your terrariums! They are so cute. I LOVE the chipmunk picture. So adorable and so tiny! I do love animals. I eventually want to get a dog. Maybe after the babies…

    • Melody says:

      Thanks, Arryn! I have a feeling we’ll eventually get a dog when our future kids ask for one. I remember my parents didn’t want one, and got one for us when we were little. It was the best!

  2. Ally says:

    You can always adopt one of our animals (or kids).

  3. Minion says:

    ANIMAL LOVER!!! i really want Chippy back. I miss him 😦

  4. octobopJess says:

    I miss my cats, but my boyfriend is allergic. I have been watching youtube videos of pet bunnies, frogs, hedgehogs, and yes, octopi, wondering when I’ll finally have the time and money for a pet! For now, we put up bird feeders and enjoy watching the chickadees 🙂

  5. elliot says:

    I’m all about raising baby animals. I’ve tried so many birds over the years. I was successful with the goose that later thought he was a turkey after I released him into grandpas turkey/goat/donkey/bird/cow farm.

    • Melody says:

      I remember him! Birds are tough too. I don’t even mess with them because they are so tough to keep alive, and I’ve always been impressed with your ability to raise them well!

What are you thinking?

