Giving It Away


Donation to The Daughters of Hawai‘i

*image found here.

I don’t know about you, but when I’m donating things I tend to pick out the objects that are well-worn, out of style, or in a word, worthless.  When it comes to giving things to people in need, why don’t we ever give out of the good possessions that we have?  Why is it always the scraps?  Isn’t there a part of us that says, “They should be grateful to have anything they can get.”  But people in need are essentially getting the scraps in every area of their lives.  Maybe if we gave them things of value, they would feel valued.

I’m not saying that people should base their worth on what they have, but I’m more concerned about the message that we send people in need when everything that we give them is practically worthless.  And I’m definitely not saying that second-hand things shouldn’t be donated.  I think it’s a responsible thing to do on many levels.

We’re exploring this topic in terms of our talents in my art group this month.  In college I was taught that giving your art away is not something that should be done regularly.  It is bad for your business to do that.  How can you make money when you’re not selling your art?  But another part of me wants to use my abilities to be a blessing to others.  So this month, the people in my art group and I are all creating a piece (or pieces) with the medium of our choice to give away to someone…anyone!  The idea is to use our best materials, and to do our best work.  No scraps allowed!   I am not going to share my project with you yet, but I will tell you that it is an oil painting.

I sincerely hope that this attitude of giving does not end with this month.  I want to continue to keep my eyes and ears open for people to encourage with my art and with the many belongings that I’ve been blessed with.  Considering all that God has done for me and given me, it’s really the least that I can do.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Giving It Away

  1. Liz says:

    You go girl!!! God gives me the great joy in being an Artist!!! I love blessing people with my art as well : ).

What are you thinking?

