Let Heaven and Nature Sing


I know that I said I was going to update the blog with a picture of the dog that I started painting, but I decided to hold off until I can tell you the full story behind the piece.  So I’m hoping that I will have an update for you at the beginning of next week.

In the mean time, I’ve decided to follow trend and post a few pictures of my house at Christmas time.  It’s nothing grand, but it’s still fun seeing little touches of the holiday season all around me.

IMG_5641 IMG_5640

I saw a few Christmas carol garlands on Pinterest that I thought were cool so I made my own using some leftover paper that I bought for bookmaking.  I love this line because it gives me the mental image of a HUGE celebration at the birth of Jesus.  A celebration so big that even now, thousands of years later, we’re still celebrating!

IMG_5637IMG_5638

I grew up in Thailand, and as a result we never had a real Christmas tree.  I like fake Christmas trees better than real ones for many reasons, but I did buy this real mini tree and put it in a pot that I had already.  IMG_5635 IMG_5634 IMG_5633 IMG_5632

I feel like a bit of a ninny-muggins for having a theme for my Christmas tree, but I do.  “Let Heaven and Nature Sing!”  I used natural colors and elements like animal ornaments.  IMG_5630 IMG_5619 IMG_5618

Stay tuned for more Christmas-y posts.  I’m planning on making more snow globes this year as well as door swags for outside!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Let Heaven and Nature Sing

  1. Jocelyn says:

    Love your creativity! The house looks great 🙂

  2. Carolyn Martin says:

    I love it! Every part of your house sings Christmas 🙂 soon you will have a real baby for the manger(next year)!

  3. Holly Niphakis says:

    I really love your Heaven and Nature sing, theme…. I love it when something new pops up in relation to Christmas and your comment did it just now! thank you melody.

  4. Easten says:

    What a beautiful tree! I like the theme and all the ornaments.

What are you thinking?

