The Doll Home


Eric’s mom gave me a dollhouse kit that she originally bought to put together for Eric’s sister when she was one.  I don’t blame her for never assembling it herself, because it was quite time-consuming.  After a few months of on and off work, the basics are done.  Now I can start decorating!  Noelle calls it a dollhouse most of the time, but sometimes she calls it a “doll home” which I find so funny for some reason.

Thankfully it passed its initial inspection.

IMG_8961And here it is now:

IMG_9333IMG_9312

The attic window was the only missing piece.  I made a little frame out of some small wood scraps that I had, and used clear plastic from a photo album cover for the window.  I used puffy paints to make it sort of stained glass-y.

IMG_9331IMG_9314IMG_9315IMG_9317IMG_9319IMG_9324Most of the floors are just the original kit floors (plywood) that I white washed and drew on with a sharpie to simulate floorboards.  The bathroom floor is the only inside floor that I painted over entirely.  I wanted it to look like marble tiles.

IMG_9330So that’s it for now.  I still have to make a bunch of furniture and accessories, buy some furniture, and finish the front.  I want to make window boxes, and the front door still needs a knob.  It has been a lot of fun so far!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Doll Home

  1. Love it, Meli! I especially like seeing Noelle trying to get in the house 🙂 …. it’ll be fun to enjoy these opportunities for creative outlet….thanks again for updating your blog….I really really really really miss them….really! Even though I see you all a few times a week 🙂

  2. Molly Logue says:

    Adorable Melody! When I saw the picture of one of the dollhouse rooms on fb the other day I thought it was a real room! Too funny 😊

  3. Abigail Dubbe says:

    I’m especially in awe of your bathroom tiles!! Looks so great! Every girl dreams of a doll house, I think- how special!

  4. Melody….perhaps you should post some of your latest creations….and also perhaps you should post updates on the doll house 🙂

What are you thinking?

