Copycat


I found this image on Pinterest a little while ago, and immediately knew that I wanted to put trees on the nursery wall.

I considered getting decals because it seemed like less work, but in the end I liked this design better than any of the decals that I saw.  And painting it myself was a lot less expensive than buying decals which would have been around $100.

Here is a before shot of the nursery:

Using a gift card that I had for Lowe’s, I chose a paint color called Timber Line and matched it with Valspar low VOC paint.  It was so nice not to smell paint fumes!  Eric’s mom knew I just needed some motivation to get started so she offered to come over and help me paint.  And when I say “help,” I mean she kindly did all of the painting, while I sat on a chair and watched her.  Because we chose to paint only one wall, it only took about half an hour.

When the paint dried, I sketched the trees using chalk.  I knew it would be easy to wipe off with a damp cloth and it worked really well.  I chose not to project the image, because I thought it would be quicker to draw the image directly on the wall.

Then I painted the birch trees using left over paint from the other three walls.  The color is White Heron by Sherwin-Williams.  I made this scintillating video so that you can see how easy it was to paint the trees.

And here is the finished product!

The whole project probably took around eight hours.  Not too shabby!  I like that the design is not baby-specific.  I think it could work for all ages, and it’s gender neutral too.  And lastly, here is baby Martin at 24 weeks!

 

***UPDATE***

View the finished nursery here.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Baby Martin and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Copycat

  1. deAnn Roe says:

    Love it, Melody! You are so gifted!! :0)

  2. Holly Niphakis says:

    the wall is really beautiful…it draws me in and makes me want to sit in a comfy chair with a table lamb behind me and hold baby Martin who has yet to arrive, so I think I will read a book there instead :-)…. once there is a lamp.

  3. Carolyn Martin says:

    I love,love,love it! it is soo baby beautiful…I can’t wait to move in when baby arrives,I mean visit 🙂 Only 16 weeks to go until we meet baby!

  4. elliot martin says:

    Wow it looks exactly like the other painting of trees that you copied from. cool beans

  5. Kirsten says:

    Aww love it. Adorable…just like you!

  6. Easten says:

    I love the design! It turned out so well!

  7. arrynvogan says:

    That looks so amazing! I was looking at images like that for Noah’s nursery. I wanted to just paint them myself as well, but we can’t do that in the apartment. I will live vicariously through you! 🙂 I love it! You look fantastic! Hope you have loved being pregnant. I sure loved it!

  8. Love this Mel! You could go into business! (and you look great by the way!)

    • Melody says:

      Thanks, Melissa! I’m thinking more about adding murals to my other commissioned services. I’ve always been intimidated by them, but they’re not as difficult as I thought. 🙂

  9. Jocelyn says:

    This is so amazing!!

What are you thinking?